Flooring Pros at Floormasters.com
SERVING WOOD FLOORING PROFESSIONALS ONLINE SINCE 1997

Shop Talk

Post subject: I need Glitsa advice.
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:07 pm 

What's the best way to apply Glitsa?

Can it be poured from a pour bucket?

Is it possible to use a nylfoam applicator?

Can it be snowplowed like waterbase?

What solvents should be used with Bacca and Gold Seal for cleaning brushes etc?

Any other advice?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 5:31 pm 
Richard,

Applying Glitsa is in what you're comfortable doing, some still brush using a glitsa brush, some use a Lambswool as I used to do, but using a T-bar IMO is the best method for applying and I've been applying the product for about 15 years. It can be poured out as I do, but you must use care in not leaving any drips off the bucket or they will show if not caught right away, i'd recommend having a rag with a little Lacquer thinner handy just in case. DO NOT by any means screen and or apply another coat before the previous coat is dry or you'll be resanding the floor { Think stripper on finish } do not apply too thin or you'll see the product skin over too quickly or not flow properly, I like to add a bit of retarder to the mix for a little extra open time.

I hope this helps

Dale

Post subject: glitsa
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 5:56 pm 

Rich
I believe alcohol is the thinner, and laq thinner/xylene is the solvent for cleaning.
I prefer to apply with a 3/8 inch nap roller. I don't like having it poured on the floor. After Gold Seal is applied, it cant be coated for 30 days. They do have lite scent that may be easier and less restrictive to work with.
Good luck
Paul

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:12 pm 
Lacquer thinner is recommended by Glitsa it's on the label.........

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 8:44 pm 

Not for thinning, but laquer thinner is what you use for cleaning brushes.

You need to get more open time use glitzas retarder